A part of Indiaonline network empowering local businesses
Home city guide administration in jabalpur

Administration in Jabalpur

Jabalpur one of the prominent city of Madhya Pradesh serves as administrative headquarters of both the Jabalpur district and the Jabalpur division. Jabalpur division constitutes of Balaghat, Jabalpur, Mandla, Chhindwara, Katni, Seoni and Narsinghpur. In the year 1861, Jabalpur division was initially set up as division of Central Provinces of British India. 

The British division comprised of districts of Sagar, Jabalpur, Mandla, Seoni and Damoh. After India's independence, the Central Provinces were formed as new state of Madhya Pradesh in 1947. Previously, Balaghat district was a part of Central Provinces' Nagpur division, however, it became a part of Jabalpur division when the entire state was transferred to Bombay state in the year 1956. 

It was on 30th June'1986, that the Central Administrative Tribunal finally got established in Jabalpur. The first Vice Chairman was Hon'ble Shri S.K.S. Chib. The Hon'ble Shri K.B.Khare was the first Member (Judicial) of this tribunal.

Jabalpur administration

The local governmental bodies in Jabalpur is constantly engaged in the process of addressing various issues which may be causing any kind of inconvenience to the public. In the year 2008, district administration carried a very peaceful drive for demolition of 300 illegal structures. These structures were acting as a hazard and were causing inconvenience to the public.

Jabalpur Municipal Corporation

Civic administration in Jabalpur

Jabalpur Municipality now known as Jabalpur Municipal Corporation started functioning in the year 1864. At that time it was called Jabalpur Municipality. With time, Jabalpur Municipality was changed to a Corporation and it moved from an old building to a new one. 

Many changes have been introduced in the corporation from the past. It has done some amazing works to make the city worth visiting and living. Municipal Corporation looks after basic amenities and their proper functioning. 

There are over 70 public representatives who look after the needs and betterment of the residents included in their wards. Municipal Commissioner, Chairman and Mayor act as a support to these representatives and together they are involved in betterment of masses and progression in the welfare of the city.

Main functions of Jabalpur Municipal Corporation:

  • Solving of civic problems and providing better civic amenities
  • Looking after health, public convenience and sanitation as needed by the residents
  • To provide sufficient electricity and water to all parts of the city
  • To improve slum areas and maintain proper hygiene in the city
  • To open up more schools, dispensaries, colleges and maternity wards
  • To keep the city neat and clean
Jabalpur Municipal Corporation
Address: Near Teen Patti Chowk, Wright Town, Madhya Pradesh State Highway 22
Marhatal, Jabalpur, Madhya Pradesh 482002
Phone: +91 761 2611451
Website: https://www.jmcjabalpur.org/#

General Administration of Jabalpur

Collector of Jabalpur looks after the general administration of the city and is responsible for smooth functioning of the city and district. Various subordinates assist him in the course ensuring overall development of the region administered by him. Some of the important functions of the collectorate office in Jabalpur are:
  • Land acquisition and land assessment
  • Collection of income tax, land revenue and loans
  • Maintaining law and order
  • Disaster and crisis management and more
Collector of Jabalpur
Shri S.K. Suman (IAS)    Collector & District Magistrate    0761-2624200

Upper Collector of Jabalpur
Address: Room No.4, Collectorate Campus Rd, South Civil Lines, Jabalpur, Madhya Pradesh 482001
Phone: 076126 24100

S.D.M. Jabalpur
Shri P. K. Sen Gupta     
Email: sdmpanjab[at]mp[dot]gov[dot]in    
Phone: 9713311007     9713311007     
Tehsil Office Jabalpur(rural) /Panagar, District Jabalpur

For any further administrative updates https://jabalpur.nic.in/en/about-district/whos-who/

Police Department in Jabalpur

Police Department in JabalpurSince, the city has come up to become a major tourist hub it is mandatory for the police to address all the grievances of the residents as well as tourists in an organized manner. 

Superintendent of Police in Jabalpur coordinates with his juniors to looks after the law and order situation in the city. 

They keep vigil on any suspicious activities that may cause threat to the general public and in this manner keeps the city out of the grip of major terrorist attacks or any crime of serious nature.

Superintendent of Police
Shri Tusharkant Vidhyarthi (I.P.S.) ;
Email : 100jabalpur[at]gmail[dot]com ; 
Phone : 9479994001 ; Fax No. : 761-2676333

Police Control Room Omti, Jabalpur [MP]
Address: 5W9R+H7J, Police Quarters Omti, Jabalpur, Madhya Pradesh 482001
Phone No:    0761‑2676103, 761‑2676105

Agriculture Department in Jabalpur

Jabalpur is known for its production of seeds, soybeans, pulses, grams, oil seeds and food grains. The city is also popular for its cosmopolitan nature. The Agriculture department helps the farmers in better cultivation of crops .

Joint Director
Office of the Dy. Director Kisan Kalyan & Krishi Vikas,In front of Algin Hospital, Jabalpur
Phone: 0761-2624390

Dy. Director
Office of the Joint Director, Kisan Kalyan & Krishi Vikas, Room No 60 Collectorate,
Phone-    0761-2624359

Women and Child Development Department

Jabalpur division has implemented a tech savvy project for identification, registration, counting and monitoring of every pregnancy, marriage and child birth. This system is known ChRIS (Child Record Information System). 

The system is well developed and posts all marriages, deliveries and pregnancies, ante and post natal care, proper growth and elementary education of the child.There is an NGO called Jabalpur Diocesan Social Service Society (JDSSS) in Jabalpur. It was started in the year 1979 to work towards the welfare of women and children.

District Program Officer
Address- Room no 107, Collectorate, Jabalpur
E-mail- wcdjab@mp.nic.in
Phone- 0761-2623810, 9425184228

District Women Empowerment Officer
Address- Room no 107, Collectorate, Jabalpur
E-mail- wcdjab@nic.in
Phone- 0761-2623810, 9893151155

Public Representatives in Jabalpur

Jabalpur Lok Sabha constituency is said to be one among the 29 Lok Sabha constituencies in the state of Madhya Pradesh. The constituency covers almost the complete Jabalpur district. Furthermore, in 2008 a rule was passed for the delimitation of both legislative and parliamentary constituencies. There are over eight Vidhan Sabha segments in Jabalpur Lok Sabha constituency.

Member of Parliament (MP) in Jabalpur

Rakesh Singh
Party: Bharatiya Janata Party
Permanent Address: 693, Madhatal, Jabalpur, Madhya Pradesh
Delhi Address: 20, Rajendra Prasad Road,New Delhi - 110 001
Mobile: 9868180233
Phone: 011-23071900,0761-2543225,0761-4017799
Fax: 011-23071900,0761-2410099

Major Cities You Must Know

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries